Board of Directors

Thomas Dempster, Sioux Falls, Chair
Malcom Chapman, Rapid City, Chair Elect
Rita Karels, Sioux Falls, Secretary/Treasurer
Richard Aguilar, Sioux Falls
Kim Elbers, Sioux Falls
Barbara Fishback, Brookings
Phil Hogen, Black Hawk
Rev. Betsy Hoium, Sioux Falls
Mike Jamison, Sioux Falls
Rev. Carl Larson, Milbank
Rev. Velma Larson, Volin
Mary Minton, Rapid City
Reed Rasmussen, Aberdeen
Jim Tharp, Huron
Bishop David B. Zellmer, Sioux Falls

Foundation Board of Directors

Rev. Bob Hansen, Hartford, Chair
Carol Twedt, Sioux Falls, Vice Chair
Rich Aguilar, Sioux Falls, Secretary
Kent Hartsuiker, Sioux Falls, Treasurer
Joel Black, Rapid City
Deb Bowman, Pierre
Patris Eidsness, Rochford
Mary Dean Janklow, Sioux Falls
Julie Johnson, MIna
Rita Karels, Sioux Falls
Julie Nesson, Sioux Falls
Rev. Tom Opoien, Tea
Jim Schade, Volga
Dan Statema, Sioux Falls

Executive Leadership

  • Betty Oldenkamp, President and CEO

    Phone: 605-444-7505

    Betty Oldenkamp has served as the President and CEO for Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota since March 2006. Prior to LSS, Betty served as the Cabinet Secretary for the South Dakota Department of Human Services, the state agency with oversight for the disability-related services. Betty dedicated 15 years of her career to public service. Betty is a native South Dakotan. She grew up in Murdo, graduated from Dakota Wesleyan University in Mitchell, and attended graduate courses at Northern State University in Aberdeen. Betty currently serves on the Board of Trustees for Dakota Wesleyan University. Betty was twice awarded a Governor’s Award for Employee Excellence and received distinguished service awards from the Rocky Mountain Council of Community Mental Health Centers and Dakota Wesleyan University.

  • Nathan Beyer, Vice President, Finance & Support Services

    Phone: 605-444-7505

    Nathan Beyer is responsible for finance, information technology and property management services for Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota. He came to LSS in October 2012 as Director of Accounting, transitioning to Vice President of Finance and Support Services in 2015. Prior to joining LSS, Nathan worked in public accounting in Worthington, Minn. Nathan grew up in Flandreau. He graduated from South Dakota State University with a degree in Business Economics.

  • Rebecca Kiesow-Knudsen, Vice-President of Community Services

    Phone: 605-444-7505

    As Vice-President of Community Services, Rebecca Kiesow-Knudsen provides leadership and oversees counseling services, Center for Financial Resources, Center for New Americans, childcare & education services, mentoring services and disaster response services. Rebecca earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota. She also earned a master’s in public administration with an emphasis in nonprofit administration from the University of South Dakota. She began her career with Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota in 2001 as the director of the school-based mentoring program. In 2004, Rebecca began providing leadership to the agency’s quality improvement program and overseeing its accreditation through the Council on Accreditation. Rebecca is originally from South Dakota, growing up in Sioux Falls and graduating from Lincoln High School.

  • Bill Peterson, Vice President of Development & Foundation

    Phone: 605-444-7505

    As the Vice-President of Development & Foundation, Bill Peterson is responsible for all development and Foundation activities including annual fundraising, major gift campaigns, corporate sponsorships, planned giving and communication efforts. Bill is a native of Vermillion, South Dakota, but has lived in Sioux Falls for more than 30 years. For nearly 25 years, Bill was Vice President/Public Affairs Officer for CNA/Western Surety Company, one of the nation’s largest surety bonding companies. Bill served eight years in the South Dakota House of Representatives and was Majority Leader for four years. He is a Toll Fellow of the Council of State Governments. Bill has been active in numerous state and community activities having chaired the Children’s Care Foundation, Sioux Council Boy Scouts, South Dakota Historical Society Foundation, Kilian Community College and Family Services, Inc. and has been a volunteer for Junior Achievement, Sioux Empire United Way and in many capital campaigns. In 1994, Bill co-chaired Citizens for a Modern City Government, which led the citizen effort to change the form of Sioux Falls city government. Bill was one of the leaders in the successful effort to merge Achieve and Children’s Care Hospital and School into LifeScape. Bill has received numerous recognitions for his leadership including the Silver Beaver Award of the Boy Scouts of America and The University of South Dakota W.O. Farber 2004 Distinguished Alumni Leadership Award. He received his education at Vermillion High School and the University of South Dakota, Vermillion, where he majored in political science.

  • Sheila Weber, Vice-President of Children & Youth Services

    Phone: 605-444-7505

    As Vice-President of Children & Youth Services, Sheila Weber’s responsibilities include leadership and oversight of psychiatric residential treatment, group care, treatment and specialized foster care, adoption, pregnancy counseling, and independent living services. Sheila possesses a bachelor’s degree in psychology, master’s in social work, and a master’s in business administration. Sheila began working in the human services field more than 20 years ago at a residential program for adults with developmental disabilities. She also worked with adults, teens and children in residential and outpatient mental health treatment settings. For more than 10 years, Sheila has provided clinical and administrative oversight of treatment programs for children and youth. Sheila is originally from southeastern South Dakota.

Powered by